Memorial to the Theft of Jewish Property by the Nazis

Memorial to the theft of Jewish property by the Nazis

By Moritz Rinke

On the 10th of November 1938, on the night of the pogrom, the Zwienicki family heard the rumble of the so-called “Rollkommandos” – small motorized task forces – in front of their house in Bremen’s New Town. It was 4.10 in the morning when three SA men rang the Zwienickis’ bell at the corner of Große Sortilienstraße and Hohentorstraße. Benno, the son, who had just turned twenty, opened the door. Two of the men ascended the stairs to the upper rooms – Benno had to wait at the door with the remaining SA man. Then, he heard his mother’s screams, followed by a noise as if someone had fallen to the ground. Shortly after, Benno was cradling his mother in his arms – one of the SA men had shot her in the heart, presumably out of anger over her refusal to reveal her husband’s hiding place.

Several hours prior, the ruling mayor of Bremen had given the order to destroy Jewish-owned shops, to set synagogues on fire, and to seize any valuables. And thus, the Ukrainian-born bicycle dealer Joseph Zwienicki found himself on the Rollkommando’s list as well, although he managed to escape across the roofs.

Beside his wife Selma, four more Jewish citizens were shot that night in the Bremen area and today’s Osterholz district respectively. Joseph Goebbels was “all in all” satisfied with the “Jewish Action”, as he’d noted in his diary. “Only in Bremen had it come to unpleasant excesses. But these get lost completely in the overall large-scale operation,” the minister of propaganda concluded.

That very same night, Benno was interrogated by the Criminal Investigation Department, after which he was taken to the concentration camp in Sachsenhausen. It was there during my research that I found his name on a huge commemorative plaque, not too far from another name: Adolf Maass, a Jewish merchant and businessman, who had owned big shares of the logistics company Kühne + Nagel until 1933, and who had completed his apprenticeship at its parent company in Bremen. At the very same company which profited from shipping seized Jewish valuables, i.e. the furnishings of deportees or emigrants. During the so-called MAktion (M for Möbel – furniture in German) – the shipping of furnishings of more than 70,000 Jewish households from the occupied Western territories – the company had helped redistribute loot to non-Jews across the Reich on freight trains and cargo ships.

After everything I’d managed to learn about the Zwienickis from Bremen, they had had a good life until the night of the pogrom. With their repair business for bicycles, motorbikes, gramophones and sewing machines, they and their children had gotten by well, but after that night and after Selma’s murder, that life had been shattered. The shop was deregistered and the house was forcibly sold far below its actual value. The same happened to Adolf Maass’s home in Hamburg in the Blumenstraße. On top of it, he was driven out of the company he himself had helped build up by the Kühne brothers.

Joseph Zwienicki, Benno’s father, received a meagre 1200 Reichsmark for his house and its inventory – a sum that was just about enough to purchase ship tickets to Montreal for him and two of his sons.

That both Adolf Maass and Benno Zwienicki got arrested on the night of the pogrom and were taken to the concentration camp in Sachsenhausen the very same day is a testimony of the national-socialist hate campaigns against Jews and, above all, of the acceleration of the overall willingness to annihilate Jewish life.

Thus, this memorial connects two different fates. One, a victim of the Nazis and his unworthy successors at Kühne + Nagel, the parent company of which continues to symbolize the unprocessed “Aryanization” – the looting and selling of Jewish property. The other, traumatized by his mother’s murder and robbed of his heritage in Bremen.

After his liberation from the concentration camp, Benno Zwienicki joined his family in Montreal.

Adolf Maass and his wife were murdered in Auschwitz in 1945. Later on, relatives of the Maass family managed to escape to Montreal as well. That out of all companies it had been Kühne + Nagel which expanded into Montreal in 1953 certainly must have been more than a disconcerting footnote in the Maass’s lives.

Translated by Dariusz Schimankowitz

Mahnmal zur Erinnerung an den NS-Raub anJüdinnen und Juden

Mahnmal zur Erinnerung an den NS-Raub anJüdinnen und Juden

Am 10. November 1938, in der Pogromnacht, hörte die Familie Zwienicki den Lärm der sogenannten „Rollkommandos“ vor dem Haus in der Bremer Neustadt. Es war 04 Uhr 10, als drei SA-Männer bei den Zwienickis an der Ecke Große Sortilienstraße/Hohentorstraße klingelten. Benno, der Sohn, gerade 20 Jahre alt geworden, öffnete die Tür. Zwei Männer liefen in die oberen Zimmer, Benno musste mit dem anderen SA-Mann an der Tür warten. Dann vernahm er von oben Schreie seiner Mutter, danach ein Geräusch, als sei jemand zu Boden gefallen. Kurze Zeit später hielt Benno seine Mutter im Arm, einer der Männer hatte ihr ins Herz geschossen, vermutlich aus Wut, dass sie das Versteck ihres Ehemanns nicht preisgeben wollte.

Der Regierende Bürgermeister von Bremen hatte Stunden zuvor den Befehl gegeben, Synagogen in Brand zu stecken, jüdische Geschäfte zerstören zu lassen und Wertsachen zu beschlagnahmen. Und so stand auch der aus der Ukraine stammende Fahrradhändler Joseph Zwienicki auf der Liste der Rollkommandos, doch er konnte über die Dächer fliehen.

Neben seiner Frau Selma wurden in dieser Nacht im Raum Bremen bzw. im heutigen Kreis Osterholz noch vier weitere jüdische Bürger erschossen. Joseph Goebbels war im „Großen und Ganzen“ zufrieden mit der „Judenaktion“, wie er in seinem Tagebuch vermerkte. „Nur in Bremen ist es zu einigen unliebsamen Exzessen gekommen. Aber die tauchen gänzlich unter in der Großaktion“, befand der Propagandaminister.

Sohn Benno wurde noch in der Pogromnacht von der Kriminalpolizei verhört und danach ins KZ Sachsenhausen gebracht. Dort fand ich bei der Recherche auf einer riesigen Gedenktafel seinen Namen, nicht unweit eines anderen Namens, Adolf Maass. Einem jüdischen Kaufmann, dem bis 1933 große Anteile des Logistikunternehmens Kühne + Nagel gehörten und der seine Lehre im Stammhaus in Bremen begonnen hatte – in genau jenem Unternehmen, das vom Transport des beschlagnahmten Judenvermögens, dem Hausrat der Deportierten oder Ausgewanderten, profitierte. Bei der sogenannten „MAktion („M“ für Möbel), dem Transport des Hausrats aus über 70.000 jüdischen Wohnungen aus den besetzten Westgebieten, hat die Firma geholfen, das Raubgut mit Güterzügen und Frachtschiffen im Reich zu verteilen.

Nach allem, was ich über die Zwienickis aus Bremen in Erfahrung bringen konnte, hatten sie bis zur Pogromnacht ein glückliches Leben in Bremen. Mit ihrem Reparaturgeschäft für Fahrräder, Motorräder, Grammophone und Nähmaschinen kamen sie mit ihren Kindern über die Runden, doch nach jener Nacht und der Ermordung Selmas war dieses Leben in Bremen zerstört. Das Geschäft wurde abgemeldet und das Haus zwangsweise unter Wert verkauft. Gleiches geschah mit dem Haus von Adolf Maass in Hamburg in der Blumenstraße, zudem wurde er von den Kühne-Brüdern aus der Firma gedrängt, die er doch selbst mit aufgebaut hatte.

Joseph Zwienicki, der Vater von Benno, erhielt gerade mal 1200 Reichsmark für sein Haus und dessen Inventar – das reichte für die Schiffskarten nach Montreal, für ihn und zwei seiner Söhne.

Es spricht für die nationalsozialistische Hetze gegen Juden und vor allem für die Beschleunigung des Vernichtungswillens, dass Adolf Maass und Benno Zwienicki in der Pogromnacht verhaftet und am selben Tag ins KZ Sachsenhausen gebracht wurden.

Dieses Mahnmal verbindet nun also auch diese beiden Schicksale. Der eine Opfer der Nazis und seiner unwürdigen Nachfolger bei Kühne + Nagel, deren Stammhaus in Bremen immer noch für die unaufgearbeitete „Arisierung“, den Raub und Verkauf jüdischen Besitzes steht; der andere traumatisiert von der Ermordung seiner Mutter sowie seines Erbes in Bremen beraubt.

Der Bremer Benno Zwienicki konnte nach der Freilassung aus dem KZ Sachsenhausen seiner Familie nach Montreal folgen. Adolf Maass und seine Frau wurden 1945 in Auschwitz ermordet, Angehörige der Familie Maass konnten später ebenfalls nach Montreal flüchten. Dass ausgerechnet die Firma Kühne + Nagel 1953 nach Montreal expandierte, war für die Familie Maass bestimmt mehr als eine befremdliche Fußnote.